The quick answer to this question is no, but there is more to it than that. If you are between the ages of 18 and 24 you are still required to complete a driver education course, but it is somewhat different than the one that 15 and 16 years olds have to take. This course is called an Adult Drivers Ed Course, but it ultimately serves the same purpose.
You can take an adult Drivers Ed course online that is approved by the Texas Education Agency, so you can work on it from any computer that is connected to the internet. Many people want to know if your 18 can you just go and take the test and get your license, which is why they have developed these Adult Driver Education Courses.
Find More information at www5.esc13.net/drivers/ - Texas 6 Hour Driving Course
At the very end of the driver education course is a final exam that you have 3 attempts to pass. This final exam replaces the DPS written exam, so unlike 15 and 16 year olds you will not have to complete the written exam at the DPS. When you pass the final you will receive a certificate of completion that must be taken to the DPS to sign up for your vision test and the behind the wheel test. Once you successfully complete these tests you will be able to drive off with your license.
For Young drivers: Ages 18 - 24
○ Apply in person at any driver license office and bring the required documents and fees.
○ Pass the knowledge and driving tests, unless exempt. (Read about testing in other languages.)
**NOTE: Applicants under 25 years of age must also successfully complete an texas adult driver education course online before applying for their first Texas driver license.
# In texas, individuals under the age of __________ must complete a drivers education program to obtain a license.
Under 25 years of age
Get Answers over here ► Texas Adult Drivers Education Course Final Exam Answers
After you take the 6 hour driving course online whats next in Texas
• How to pass the DPS road test for Texas Drivers license?
• Before Scheduling a Driving Test at Texas DPS (texas drivers license driving test appointment)
• Texas State Safety and Laws - You should aware
# Individuals under 18 years of age must meet extra requirements. For more information visit the Teen Drivers page.
Texas law requires that all applicants under the age of ________ take the driving skills exam to receive a driver license.
Under the age of 18
In addition to meeting the regular requirements needed to apply for a Texas driver license, individuals under 18 years of age must also comply with the Graduated Driver License (GDL) Program.
Graduated Driver License (GDL) Program
The Graduated Driver License (GDL) program was implemented January 1, 2002 to give new drivers the chance to improve their driving skills over time in lower-risk environments.
Individuals who are under 18 years of age must hold a valid learner license or a minor restricted driver license (MRDL) for a minimum of six months prior to the issuance of a provisional Class A, B or C driver license. Under the GDL program, there is not a minimum time a person must hold a restricted motorcycle or moped license before he/she can apply for a Class M license.
If the individual’s license is suspended during Phase One, then the initial six-month period is extended by the number of days of the suspension because the license is invalid during that time.
NOTE: Phase One does not apply to Class M or MRDL holders.